What? … Netherlands Already?

Day 35 – 6th October 2013

Meppen – Nordhorn – Enschede

DSC_0235

The power rinding the last 2 days took its toll today. I was all out of energy and every meter was a pain. But I had to continue.

The way went further dow the river Ems. I left it after a while to head for Nordhorn, a city right at the border between Germany and Netherlands.

There is a little canal that leads from the river Ems all the way to the border and luckily there was a bike route right next to it.

The way was so straight, you could see 2 km far. When I arrived in Nordhorn I kept following the canal and suddenly all the signs were in Dutch. So I turned back to see where the border was. But there was no sign where Germany began and where Netherlands stopped.

So I asked a couple that was sitting on a bench. They told me that the border was where the little gate is. But there was no sign that you are changing countries.

The couple also told me that this way is often used for smuggling stuff from the Netherlands to Germany.

Well now I am in Netherlands and that means I might not have internet everyday so don‘t freak out if you do not hear from me 1 or 2 days.

The crazy thing about this country is that their traffic lights and there ways are all perfect for biking. You can reach your destination really fast.

On my way I saw a Tourist Information and decided it would be a good thing to ask if they knew any places to go camping near Enschede.

The guy at the reception asked someone if they knew some place and the woman called another woman so that I had 3 people thinking about my problem. With 3 people we figured it out pretty quick. The rest was just biking, putting up the tent and going to bed.

Km today: 86.73km wheel turning time: 4h 58min km total: 2879km

Kommentar verfassen

an irish journal

ein Tagebuch aus Irland

I'm going on an adventure!

meine 9 Monate in Australien und Neuseeland

Rolling through Europe

All with 0 CO2 emissions

